A new phase of caregiving: a bedridden mother

I find myself strangely shy as I try to act out on my intention to blog every day through this month; as part of my attempt, I am wondering how I managed it last year, and I am surprised to find how very different my life is now.

My overriding mindshare, both last year and now, is caregiving, but the texture has changed completely.

Last year, I was busy accepting that dementia had altered my mother’s way of talking and responding, and that the changes in her memory and abilities (and the frustration they caused) were the main reason her behavior required a new paradigm of interaction. My focus was two-fold:  one, creating a method of interacting that took her reality into account; two, introducing whatever was possible in her days to stimulate her mentally within the bounds of her abilities, while making sure she had enough ‘successes’ to enthuse her to keep doing her best.

Over the year, on the plus side, we found that the behavior problems most caregivers face (and that I faced earlier), vanished and everyone was, consequently, more content and less stressed.

However, dementia is a progressive disease without a cure, and progress it will, whatever you do. The pace may vary, and the specific of the sequence of deterioration may vary, but the direction is the same: downhill.

And so, by the end of the year, my mother reached a completely bed-ridden state. She barely talks, and while we are trying to see whether any medical/ nursing approach can help, the overall thrust of caregiving has changed. While earlier, too, we were focused on making sure she is comfortable and feels secure and loved, this is now a major part of the approach. That, and trying to ensure we understand every clue about what she wants or whether she is in any discomfort.

For example, while feeding her (food has to be spooned in her mouth), we have to make sure she is swallowing it properly, and sense whether she wants to eat more or not (check facial expression, check burps, check that turning away of the face or the opening of the mouth).  She does not tell us when she is cold, thirsty, or in pain — again, body language is all we have.  She sometimes nods or shakes her head if asked very simple questions, but most of the time, she looks somewhat blank. For bulk of the day, she sleeps.

Yet, despite this significant deterioration, this extreme helplessness, she responds to affection, and is is both easy and fulfilling to given her the emotional company she wants. Sometimes I find myself just holding her hand, not speaking, for several minutes, without thinking (as I would have earlier, and as an observer may feel) that I am ‘wasting’ my time. She cannot eat her food herself, but when I put my hand in hers, she grasps it back with a strong grip and sometimes even pulls my hand to touch her lips, as if for a kiss.

I have not fully re-adjusted to this new phase of her dementia, but it is not as difficult as I thought it would be. Possibly, she is being productive in a meaningful way, because all of us around her find ourselves more able to give and accept love, at least while we are with her.

My blog entries of my experiences of looking after my bedridden mother(she is in late-stage dementia) are available here: Late stage care (Caring for mother).

Resources to understand late stage care are available here: Late-stage dementia care page of Dementia Care Notes


If you like this post, please Share/ like this post using the buttons below.

You can also follow this blog by getting email notifications; click the “Follow me” option at the bottom of the right sidebar. Thank you!

About Swapna Kishore
I'm a writer, blogger, and resource person for dementia/ caregiving in India. I have also been a dementia caregiver for well over a decade, and am deeply concerned about dementia care in India; on this blog I share my personal caregiving journey, my experiences as a resource person for dementia care, and musings on life, aging, dementia in India, and such sundries. More about me and the work I do for dementia care. For structured information on dementia, for discussions, tools and tips on caregiving issues, for resources in India, and for caregiver interviews, please check my website http://dementiacarenotes.in (or its Hindi version, http://dementiahindi.com). For videos on dementia caregiving (English and Hindi), check the youtube channel here.

4 Responses to A new phase of caregiving: a bedridden mother

  1. austere says:

    I am out of words.

  2. What a great blog! Itsounds like your Mother and mine are in the stage. It is amazinghow we now appreciate such small simple gifts from them. How they react. How our eyes, ears, and heart focus so highly tuned to see the smallest of change.

    I am going to add your blog to my blog roll. Feel free to check mine out and link to your if you like.
    http://www.AlzheimersSpeaks.Wordpress.com

    Ialso have developed a resource site for people dealing with Alzheimer’s called the same name. Here is the link to that as well.
    http://www.AlzheimersSpeaks.com

    Take care and keep up the great writing

    Lori

    • swapnawrites says:

      Thanks, Lori. I just had a look at your blog, and found your entries very touching, honest, and thought-provoking.

      Your entry on gifts, for example, prompted me to think of my own approach to gifts for my mother, and I blogged about that today…

Leave a Reply

