no targets this year

It is late enough into the new year to have decided the targets (and to have begun slipping on them), so I guess it is time I faced the fact that this year, I will not be setting any targets, or making any (not-so) new year resolutions.

Last year, I had set targets–two sets of them. One set was for if I pushed myself, and the other set was my bare minimum. I did achieve the bare minimum targets, so I guess I should have been happy at year end, but I felt totally flat about it Because, over the year, I became a different person. The person I was at the beginning of the year may have loved the fact that I met my targets despite rather tough challenges, but the person I was at the end of the year didn’t think the targets represented my current direction in life.

So, as I do not know what sort of person I will be at the end of the year, I am not setting targets this year. Or making any of those resolutions, not even a simple new age one that says, I will ‘live in the present moment.’

Things change too fast, and I change too fast, and I’d rather not peg myself down or keep measuring myself with an outdated scale.

I do have some directions and priorities, though. Like caregiving is an important aspect of my life, and so is sharing my caregiving experience. Writing is important, and so is introspection. And I want to do stuff I like, such as reading a lot, learning new stuff, take long walks, and so on. But I am not committing myself to any ‘deliverables’ and ‘numbers’ on these.

I want to just stay open and flexible, and let the days lead me on…for at least this year.

Is that a wimpy way of wriggling out of commitment and effort? Not sure…but what I saw was, once I decided that there are no targets, I actually got a rush of energy. Let’s see how long that lasts🙂

About Swapna Kishore
I'm a writer, blogger, and resource person for dementia/ caregiving in India. I have also been a dementia caregiver for well over a decade, and am deeply concerned about dementia care in India; on this blog I share my personal caregiving journey, my experiences as a resource person for dementia care, and musings on life, aging, dementia in India, and such sundries. More about me and the work I do for dementia care. For structured information on dementia, for discussions, tools and tips on caregiving issues, for resources in India, and for caregiver interviews, please check my website http://dementiacarenotes.in (or its Hindi version, http://dementiahindi.com). For videos on dementia caregiving (English and Hindi), check the youtube channel here.

Leave a Reply

