Phew! A month-load of blogs done; time to pause to breathe and have dark chocolate

At last it is January 31, and time to wrap up my January blog-fest. 31 days, 31 blogs, and boy, am I tired! This is the third year that I’ve done a one-day-one-blog through January, and this year has been the toughest so far, possibly because I tried to go deeper inside me, and do a full sweep of an entire section of my life. There have been days I’ve been slumped inert all day because I had dredged out memories that hurt…

But the effort has been worth it.

I am often amazed about the fact that I blog about anything at all, given that I am an introvert and a very private person and the concept of blogging is a diametric opposite of this. But then, being a very private person, and quite lacking ambition, I have nothing to lose by admitting things and opening up.

This time, the blogging has also helped me achieve a neater wrapping up of the past, freeing me up from emotions and memories.

And while I don’t have any ambition in the normal ways that ambition is defined, I do have a core of energy and a great need to do things I want to do and that I feel must be done. Like the site I have started for caregivers of dementia patients in India, which I hope to continue enriching…

I will be blogging again, of course. Updates. Meandering thoughts. Sharing about work I do. And who knows, maybe a few months from now I’ll do a blog-a-day for a week, if for nothing else then just to experience this tremendous relief of posting the wrap-up blog🙂

But now, after having done just over 51,000 words of blogging in these 31 days, I think I’ve “earned” a break; maybe, some time to explore and rediscover creativity and fun? Paint apples purple. Draw wobbly cows in yellow crayon—-unholy cows, of course. Sing out loud without bothering that I’m besura. Eat chunks of dark chocolate.  BTW, if I draw an apple as a triangle, color it purple and call it a bananaberry, is it still an apple?

I suspect I’m sounding like an exam-over-am-still-hysterical person rather than a somber person wrappng up a bunch of serious blogs with a dignified consolidation message🙂

Which showed it truly is time to take a rest from blogging….till I get bitten by the blog bug again.

Dark chocolate, here I come…

If you like this post, please Share/ like this post using the buttons below.

You can also follow this blog by getting email notifications; click the “Follow me” option at the bottom of the right sidebar. Thank you!

About Swapna Kishore
I'm a writer, blogger, and resource person for dementia/ caregiving in India. I have also been a dementia caregiver for well over a decade, and am deeply concerned about dementia care in India; on this blog I share my personal caregiving journey, my experiences as a resource person for dementia care, and musings on life, aging, dementia in India, and such sundries. More about me and the work I do for dementia care. For structured information on dementia, for discussions, tools and tips on caregiving issues, for resources in India, and for caregiver interviews, please check my website http://dementiacarenotes.in (or its Hindi version, http://dementiahindi.com). For videos on dementia caregiving (English and Hindi), check the youtube channel here.

Leave a Reply

