Been working on dementia care site

I’ve not blogged for a while, mainly as I decided to put in a burst of work on my site, based on the surveys I did earlier. The March survey had shown trained attendants as a major concern area, and I tackled this first, gathering information from multiple sources. I was looking for areas of concern, which I collated across meetings with caregivers, questions asked in support groups, even an e-group that I co-facilitated, in addition to a survey I conducted for getting more input (as mentioned in my last blog entry).

One upshoot of all that energy is that the Dementia Care Notes website now includes a detailed page on what to expect from attendants in dementia home care, how to adjust to them, how to orient them, and supervise them, and ensure safety and security, etc. The page is here: Using Trained Attendants for Dementia Home Care The page also links to a document that can be used as a starting point while orienting an attendant for your patient’s needs. The document is downloadable at this link: Orienting attendants for dementia home care (PDF file).

I’ve also added other pages on some other important topics, like Special tips for challenging behaviours: wandering, incontinence, repetitions, sundowning and Long-Distance Caregiving for Dementia Patients in India

As I worked on these pages, I found myself coming up with a lot of ideas that merited blog entries. My experiences, my interactions with other caregivers, my realizations (during social gatherings and even medical trips) of how people outside my immediate circles seem as unaware of dementia now as they were three years ago. My comments on movies that depict dementia. Other stuff like that. I’ve jotted them down. I am hoping to make more frequent blog entries now, maybe even once a week, but I’m a bit wary of committing to that.

Time, now, for a break for a few days and then I hope to fall in a regular cycle of blogging…Let’s see…

If you like this post, please Share/ like this post using the buttons below.

You can also follow this blog by getting email notifications; click the “Follow me” option at the bottom of the right sidebar. Thank you!

About Swapna Kishore
I'm a writer, blogger, and resource person for dementia/ caregiving in India. I have also been a dementia caregiver for well over a decade, and am deeply concerned about dementia care in India; on this blog I share my personal caregiving journey, my experiences as a resource person for dementia care, and musings on life, aging, dementia in India, and such sundries. More about me and the work I do for dementia care. For structured information on dementia, for discussions, tools and tips on caregiving issues, for resources in India, and for caregiver interviews, please check my website http://dementiacarenotes.in (or its Hindi version, http://dementiahindi.com). For videos on dementia caregiving (English and Hindi), check the youtube channel here.

2 Responses to Been working on dementia care site

  1. I started working as a cna than I changed to a recreational aide. I did recreation with residents who stayed in a long term facility. I did not go to college for my change of title, but I had what is call on the job training years of training. I was trained to do activities from reminicing to telling short stories easy card playing from discription of animals, places and facts etc…. I also did sensory cutting filing nails to warm safe and appropiate lotions for comfort for those not able to do activities. Anyway, I did movies about dogs which they enjoyed. Mostly movies with children like the little rascals, children dancing programs, music movies etc…. It all makes sense and I provide all of this and much more, but let’s get all this professional stuff out of the way for a minute. I have to add that the minute that I walked into my work place I remembered what working with people who has dimentia is all about. (LOVE ) I left all my problems behind. I was now entering their territory their second home which I told most of them. I said my hellos. I gave them compliments. I did one on one to those who seemed lost or lonely. I let them know that they are loved, and that it’s safe to love back. It’s important very important to let them know that they are special people. They deserve respect as adults. I will never forget these special people who I worked with. I hope that everyone treats them with the love and respect that they deserve. Well, I just felt like telling a bit of my experience with everyone. a warm smile sometimes makes the world around these people with this difficult unexpected deasease__

    • swapnawrites says:

      Dear Roaslina,
      Thanks for sharing this very sensitive, loving approach that you have been using. I hope that by reading your experience, others will also see how care for a dementia patient can be enjoyable enriching for the carer and the patient, if we just add “love” to it every moment.
      Regards, Swapna

Leave a Reply

