Cleaning up the blog

About a month and a half ago, I needed to send someone the link of a rather old entry from the blog. As I spent a while squinting at the entries, scrolling down, I realized that my work would have been easier if the blog had a clearer background and a wider width. Also, one major problem with the blogging approach is that older entries keep getting pushed farther behind, and even if someone wants to read them, it is not easy to locate them.

When I had started blogging, I had not bothered about such things. I just wrote. But now that there are well over a hundred entries, persons visiting the blog for the first time have no idea of the sort of entries that lie buried under multiple clicks of “Older entries<<<" That would be fine, in fact suitable, if I was making entries about topical events – stuff like, going out for lunch today, met XYZ friend yesterday – stuff like a journal. But the topics I blog about are not so time-specific, and it may well be that an older entry would be of more interest to a visitor to the blog than a recent entry.

Yet, if I was deterred in surfing my own blog because of the way the entries were jumbled, then a visitor to the blog would surely be even more discouraged.

I was wont to ignore the problem, but I have been also considering blogging more frequently, and had even resolved to aim at a once-a-week entry. So these last couple of weeks, I did some cleaning up, including some use of categories and menus, in the hope that the blog's older entries will be more accessible for those who may be interested.

Hopefully next week, I will start my weekly blogging.

If you like this post, please Share/ like this post using the buttons below.

You can also follow this blog by getting email notifications; click the “Follow me” option at the bottom of the right sidebar. Thank you!

About Swapna Kishore
I'm a writer, blogger, and resource person for dementia/ caregiving in India. I have also been a dementia caregiver for well over a decade, and am deeply concerned about dementia care in India; on this blog I share my personal caregiving journey, my experiences as a resource person for dementia care, and musings on life, aging, dementia in India, and such sundries. More about me and the work I do for dementia care. For structured information on dementia, for discussions, tools and tips on caregiving issues, for resources in India, and for caregiver interviews, please check my website http://dementiacarenotes.in (or its Hindi version, http://dementiahindi.com). For videos on dementia caregiving (English and Hindi), check the youtube channel here.

4 Responses to Cleaning up the blog

  1. Gargi Mehra says:

    Looking forward to your weekly posts!

  2. austere says:

    Weekly posts would be terrific!

  3. swapnawrites says:

    Thanks…

    I’ve managed to at least make one “weekly” post after this post, and I hope I manage to continue making more posts.

    To confess, like many other “writers”, I enjoy the feeling that I “have written” but am not so energetic as to actually write 🙂 Publicly saying I plan to make weekly posts is a way of pressuring myself, a bit like a dieter announcing her intention to diet.

Leave a Reply

