Day 31: the year’s target met, the blogfest completed

Oh boy, what a relief! Making 31 entries in 31 days is an endurance test, and as it is the only target I set in the year, I am so glad it’s over. It’s not that I will be couch-potatoing the rest of the year, but the January blogfest is the only activity where I aim at time boundaries as such; the rest of the year I just keep going at whatever pace I can manage, for whatever work I want to do.

When this year, on January 1, I kicked off this year’s blogfest, I had been very shaky about it, but all in all, though there were days I found the writing tough, I am glad I took on this job.

Because, you see, like in previous years, it has helped me notice things. The sheer intensity of a daily blog means one has to think harder, search more inside.

Here are some things I found:

  • My concern about caregiver role recognition and support remains a major one for me, and that I am also very concerned about caregivers being able to pool their knowledge and tips and be a continuing community even though individual caregivers may move on and away when their loved one passes away.
  • I have thoughts and ideas and wishlists that I want to share with concerned persons, and while I have been communicating these whenever I met someone who seemed interested, and while I have also been blogging about it, I have not been clear and systematic about it. I have created some resources that could be useful to others, but I need to find ways to make them easily available to anyone who may benefit: I am adding this to my to-do list.
  • I confirmed to myself that I remain a brick-placer, and am not a cathedral builder (I even blogged about this). I am a document creator and a resource person and not a change agent and so what? I can, in spite of my limitations, continue to contribute so long as my energy and commitment remain. My blog entry yesterday consolidated my role, scope, and limitations as a dementia care resource person and hopefully my putting it down will make it simpler for people to know my scope of involvement. At least, I am clearer about myself now🙂
  • I discovered that I am getting increasingly concerned about ageing and eldercare in general, especially on how well the problems are understood and how well support is available to those who are not on the gung-ho positive side of the ageing curve. I see this as important because dementia care that fits in this context, but I am also concerned because I and many people I know will need such support in some years. I feel not enough is happening in this area in tangible ways, and not enough resources are available. (This is not yet an area I plan to do anything in, except share random thoughts).
  • And finally, I reconfirmed that blogging continues to help me sort my ideas, meet people, share concerns and ideas, and even act as a journal for work-in-progress.

So I’ll be blogging more this year, of course, possibly managing a weekly blog norm, but that’s more like sticking to a habit than hammering myself for a target.

For today, I declare the January 2012 blogfest closed and I’m off for some celebratory chocolate.

Posts referred to above are here: My involvement in dementia care support: an explanation and (Build cathedrals or place bricks, everything helps…just do something

If you like this post, please Share/ like this post using the buttons below.

You can also follow this blog by getting email notifications; click the “Follow me” option at the bottom of the right sidebar. Thank you!

About Swapna Kishore
I'm a writer, blogger, and resource person for dementia/ caregiving in India. I have also been a dementia caregiver for well over a decade, and am deeply concerned about dementia care in India; on this blog I share my personal caregiving journey, my experiences as a resource person for dementia care, and musings on life, aging, dementia in India, and such sundries. More about me and the work I do for dementia care. For structured information on dementia, for discussions, tools and tips on caregiving issues, for resources in India, and for caregiver interviews, please check my website http://dementiacarenotes.in (or its Hindi version, http://dementiahindi.com). For videos on dementia caregiving (English and Hindi), check the youtube channel here.

2 Responses to Day 31: the year’s target met, the blogfest completed

  1. Anitha says:

    Congratulations!
    Your blogs were educative, thought provoking, and inspiring. I looked forward to reading them every day. Thank you.

  2. austere says:

    Congratulations.
    You were solidly good.

Leave a Reply

