Misc: stray ideas on ideas

After tossing around multiple serious ideas for my next blog entry, starting one, then switching to another, and so on, all on stuff that needs thinking and research and such like, I’ve now chickened out and decided to write a tiny entry about my ideas on ideas 🙂 Nothing dementia care about this, just life and what happens (or does not)…

See, one thing that fascinates me is how dime-a-dozen my ideas are, even (apparently) good ideas. And how little then gets done on most of these once-so-sparkly ideas 😦

In December, I happened to read this book called “Making Ideas Happen” by Scott Belsky, and it had this rather cute little concept (okay, not really little) that sort of said that the worst enemy of a good idea is another good idea. I don’t remember the exact words, but I do remember my aha! feeling at reading that, because that sort of thing happens to me and around me all the time.

Take my attempt at blogging yesterday. I opened my blog-ideas folder, saw lots of them. I flipped through them, started typing. Barely a couple of sentences down I stopped; the idea required effort to get converted into a blog entry, some pondering, some research, some gathering information and opinions from others. Okay, that was hard work. The shine of the idea dulled because of the work it entailed. So I picked up another idea that seemed simpler. A few sentences down, I paused. You can guess what happened. And it happened a few more times before I decided to stop.

I have plenty of thoughts about plenty of things. Mine is the typical monkey mind 🙂 There are many things I want to try out, to do, to share. And definitely I cannot do all of them; I have to prioritize…Ideas come in all shapes and sizes, they come as a windfall, they come all the time. Some are big ideas, will take a lot of work, but are also a gamble. Some are small but easy to do. Most are in-between in their just-popped-in-the-head state, and could go either way if pursued.

I also have lots of ideas on prioritization criteria (but I am unable to select from them, too).

Which reminds me, I have also read that it is easier to actually do things if one does not have too many choices. Too many ideas, I suspect, are more of a problem than too few ideas…

Back to Belsky, and his concept; I think he’s got a point.

I keep reading/ hearing announcements of ideas that people have started work on. Ribbons are cut, speeches made, projects launched. Then comes the next big idea, and the previous one seems less shiny. Work on the first idea is slowed down, resources withdrawn, diverted to the next, bigger, shinier idea (till an even shinier idea comes along).

So yeah, at least one of the things that stops a good idea from happening is the coming along of another good, or maybe even a great idea.

Last year, around August end, I started getting an idea that seemed big (and frightening). I skirted around it, played with it, shelved it, and so on, and then finally in January this year, in the middle of my blogfest, I started work on it. Now the idea is at its most boring phase, the phase where it is lots of work and a gamble, and every day, as more totally different, fresh and sparkly ideas pop up in my monkey mind, I am tempted to say, okay, let me deviate for a few days.

Aww, let me confess, I did get diverted at least thrice in these last three weeks for non-trivial and good “other” ideas. Then I pulled myself back to that stodgy idea I had told myself I’d pursue.

Because, the way I look at it is, there is no point in my getting ideas if all they do is play mental musical chairs to an unknown musician. I confess I have never found an idea that remains shiny even as it starts solidifying…

Anyway, so when it came to writing a blog entry, I was tempted to start a couple of small blog-entry projects like the one I had done in December. Nice, new sparkly stuff. I have two topics on which I am raring to go, to gather data, to mull and think and structure.

Later, perhaps.

That’s probably one of my shortest blog entries, which should be a relief to those readers who ended January as weary reading my blog entries as I was writing them.

If you like this post, please Share/ like this post using the buttons below.

You can also follow this blog by getting email notifications; click the “Follow me” option at the bottom of the right sidebar. Thank you!

About Swapna Kishore
I'm a writer, blogger, and resource person for dementia/ caregiving in India. I have also been a dementia caregiver for well over a decade, and am deeply concerned about dementia care in India; on this blog I share my personal caregiving journey, my experiences as a resource person for dementia care, and musings on life, aging, dementia in India, and such sundries. More about me and the work I do for dementia care. For structured information on dementia, for discussions, tools and tips on caregiving issues, for resources in India, and for caregiver interviews, please check my website http://dementiacarenotes.in (or its Hindi version, http://dementiahindi.com). For videos on dementia caregiving (English and Hindi), check the youtube channel here.

2 Responses to Misc: stray ideas on ideas

  1. Rummuser says:

    You can become my muse!

  2. austere says:

    No one’s weary.

Leave a Reply

