Creating online dementia care material in Hindi: my experience so far

For the last few months I have been making Hindi material for supporting dementia care and uploading the material to make it available online. Here’s a short blog entry on my experience so far.

The background: Over a year ago I started worrying about the paucity of online (and print) material in Indian languages for dementia caregivers. This “worry” was active enough for me to wonder what I could do about the lack of material. My concern was spurred after someone in Madhya Pradesh contacted me – he was using Internet on his mobile and wanted material in Hindi so that he and his family could better support an early-onset dementia patient. I helped him through phone calls and by sending across some material I had. However, I felt concerned about how difficult things must be for someone like him who wanted support. Around July/ August last year I started exploring options for creating Hindi material myself. A few months later I made my first Hindi video and placed it on youtube, and in December I shared my thoughts and experiments in a 4-part blog entry (For part 1 of this series, click here: Adventures in Hindi Part 1).

Creating material in Hindi was not easy work. I did not have conventions to follow about the type of Hindi and the way dementia is explained in Hindi; I had to base my decisions on approach and style on the experience I’d had providing help in Hindi over the phone and in person, and, of course, my instinct as a caregiver and a volunteer. Typing posed its own challenges, as typing in Hindi is done using transliteration, so one has to remain alert about when this transliteration messes up spellings. Plus, of course, my Hindi needed brushing up.

One more deterrent was knowing that creating online material in Hindi was essentially a gamble. I knew people checked online for cricket scores and gossip about superstars in Hindi, but I had no idea whether people were looking online for information on dementia in Hindi. Even if there were such people, I had no idea how to let them know about my site so that they could check it out for at least some pointers to help them.

But I can be stubborn when I want to, and so once I decided to try my hand at it, I continued to create and upload stuff in Hindi, let some people know, and leave the rest to word-of-mouth, google, cross-links….

Here’s the current status of my Hindi work online: I have created a full-fledged website in Hindi on dementia care (Dementia Hindi ) and also uploaded four videos on youtube on wandering, helping patients with daily activities, communication, and understanding the relationship between dementia and Alzheimer’s (they are also combined into a convenient playlist: click here: Playlist: Hindi dementia/ care uploads). My latest video, on dementia and communication, was uploaded just a few weeks ago. Here it is:

So, what’s been my experience so far?

I’m relieved (and happy) to say that people have been visiting the Hindi website and viewing the videos. Not in droves, no, but enough for me to feel that the effort was worth it. Especially so as some visitors are from far-away cities I have no contacts in, such as Jamshedpur, Lucknow, and Indore in addition to the expected Delhi and Mumbai. Not all visitors are from India, interestingly, and apart from places like the USA and UK, I’ve also had visitors from the Nepal, Qatar, UAE and others 🙂 Some persons have even contacted me using the contact form, sending their queries in Hindi (typed using Roman script). (I responded the same way).

The videos have been viewed, too. Anyone who has checked out youtube for dementia information in Hindi would have noticed that available material (other than mine) is usually dubbed interviews, and some translated authoritative informational presentations. Overall, the list is so small it takes barely a couple of screens. So when I uploaded my videos, I had no clue whether anyone would even reach them. But of my 4 videos, 3 have been up for some months, and each of them has a viewership of over 200. Is that good enough? Is it bad? What number does one compare it with?

It is not as if there is a wide choice of Hindi material and I have a baseline to compare it with 😦

The way I see it is, this viewership is encouraging enough for me. It is far more, incidentally, than zero, which is what my viewership would have been if I had not put up the videos. Even without any direct touch with people/ publicity, even without press releases and conferences declaring the presence of this material, people reached it and read/ viewed it. And hopefully benefitted…

The beauty of online material is that once it is up and available, it remains available without additional effort, and so more and more people can view it as and when they become aware of it or get a link or locate it in a search.

My summary so far is that yes, there seem to be persons who will read material or view videos in Hindi (and possibly other Indian languages) if these were made available. I think catering to this potential audience is just not being taken as seriously as it deserves.

I’d also like to share that I sometimes meet volunteers in India who feel that there is already enough online material on dementia care and nothing more needs to be done on this front. These volunteers are often part of forums where they regularly exchange links to the same articles, recommending them to each other (not always reading them, but assuming others would benefit by doing so).

I feel these people haven’t considered a number of aspects. For example, they may not have considered whether the available material is:

  • understandable and usable by audiences in India (fitting into the cultural context)
  • in languages that people can read/ understand )
  • with links in forums such people can access )
  • accessible on the type of online platforms such audiences use )
  • accessible to people not in metros )
  • accessible to people who don’t have online access/ find it expensive)

I could expand the list into a much longer one, but I’m sure you get the point 🙂

I remember a comment one person made after he read some of the standard caregiver material he’d downloaded from one non-Indian site; he said he’d shown it to his family but they discarded it because the persons it showed were not Indians and the houses they showed were not middle-class Indian and the methods they described were not directly usable in India. (Like bathing tips that assume baths in tubs, I suspect) “We are not like these people; their ways won’t work for us,” he told me. His comment reinforced my impression that a good caregiver manual written by an Alzheimer’s support organization in some other country cannot always be used directly by all sections of people in India.

So, in my opinion, there is not enough suitable material in India given the diversity of our people, the sheer number of languages, the geographical and economic spread, the enormous awareness gap to bridge and what not. The gap between what is needed and what is available seems huge to me.

And here is my request to you, whether you are a volunteer or a caregiver who has experiences to share: if you are comfortable enough to create material in an Indian language — whether just talking of your experience, or sharing some structured material or some data — please do consider it. The online space is open and waiting for you.

Maybe the material you create or the video you make will not go viral. There may be no award to be won. There may be no appreciation/ brownie points from peers. But the one person who reaches your material could be someone whose life will be made different by reading or hearing what you have to say.

Main links referred to in this post

If you like this post, please Share/ like this post using the buttons below.

You can also follow this blog by getting email notifications; click the “Follow me” option at the bottom of the right sidebar. Thank you!

About Swapna Kishore
I'm a writer, blogger, and resource person for dementia/ caregiving in India. I have also been a dementia caregiver for well over a decade, and am deeply concerned about dementia care in India; on this blog I share my personal caregiving journey, my experiences as a resource person for dementia care, and musings on life, aging, dementia in India, and such sundries. More about me and the work I do for dementia care. For structured information on dementia, for discussions, tools and tips on caregiving issues, for resources in India, and for caregiver interviews, please check my website http://dementiacarenotes.in (or its Hindi version, http://dementiahindi.com). For videos on dementia caregiving (English and Hindi), check the youtube channel here.

4 Responses to Creating online dementia care material in Hindi: my experience so far

  1. Pingback: Adventures in Hindi Part 1: A mother-tongue fading behind a veil « Swapna writes…

  2. Pingback: Adventures in Hindi Part 2: The failed experiment of Have-English-can-translate-to-Hindi « Swapna writes…

  3. Pingback: Adventures in Hindi Part 3: India Shining, Internet, and the entertainment override « Swapna writes…

  4. Pingback: Adventures in Hindi Part 4: In the end is the beginning, or, more observations, a summing up and a way forward. « Swapna writes…

Leave a Reply

