Ideas to support dementia care in India

As a caregiver for many years, I have shared my personal experiences and related musings about dementia caregiving through over 200 blog posts (see them here). I now work actively in the dementia domain (my work and how I support). I have also created resources for volunteers in the dementia domain.

Persons who want to support dementia care in India need helpful and practical projects they can take up. These projects should match their inclination, time, energy, and skills. This post is about my effort to create a set of potential projects they can consider.

First, some background. Many persons feel they should do something for caregivers. Unfortunately, very few are able to convert their intention and enthusiasm into action. Often, when they realize how much needs to be done, they become unsure about what specific actions can help. They want to make a difference, but get discouraged or intimidated. They then get busy in other work, or use their energy for some other cause that seems easier to contribute to.

A lot needs to be done to support families coping with dementia in India. Some of these are major initiatives, such as at the policy and Governmental levels. But individuals, NGOs, professionals, and organizations can also do many things, even with limited time, energy, and funds.

Small, clear, well-thought actions can make a real difference to at least some families. Such actions are practical, and also give great satisfaction. On the other hand, volunteers can get discouraged if they aim too high because they cannot pin down how exactly to achieve that goal. They are not able to get visible results that match their high expectations of success. So they feel overwhelmed and helpless and eventually give up.

I am therefore collecting and documenting a set of do-able ideas suitable for varied types of potential contributors. I will make this document/ presentation available online. I hope this document will provide existing and prospective volunteers at least some ideas that appeal to them and that fit their energy, funds, availability, and personality.

The tentative format for each idea (suggestions are welcome) is:

  • Scope and brief description of the idea
  • The problem it solves
  • Who may find this idea suitable to implement
  • Background knowledge needed
  • Elements to plan for
  • Examples and references of similar projects implemented
  • Resources to contact (for data/ support/ networking/ potential associates)

Please note that I know that we need broad visions and missions and nation-level strategies and actions. We need to “spread awareness,” “support caregivers,” “ensure early detection of dementia,” and “make dementia a national priority” and so on. These visions and missions require major actions by well-networked, well-informed persons who have the required time, energy, funds, etc.

But for my current project, I am not looking at lofty intentions and large national or international scopes. I seek easy-to-pick-up ideas that can be done at a more modest and practical level. Ideas that persons reading this blog can think about doing.

The persons/ entities who may find these ideas useful are expected to be:

  • Persons who want to donate small or moderate amounts of money effectively but don’t want to get pulled into too much evaluation or work
  • Persons looking for areas where their organization can fund or participate in projects (such as, projects under “social responsibility”)
  • Small to medium sized NGOs interested in eldercare or dementia domain
  • Family caregivers who want others to not suffer (“my experience should not go waste”) but don’t have much time and are concerned about confidentiality of participation
  • Concerned persons with some spare time and energy, who want to use their existing skills (communication, technology, etc.)
  • Concerned persons who are interested in creative work (art, plays, etc.)
  • Students, artists, and others who want to complete a small, useful project in dementia and may want this to be part of their college work/ add to their resume

Some examples of the types of ideas (to show how I am keeping the scope of my ideas simple and practical):

  • Fund the translation of a dementia information brochure from one language to another, including funding the translation and the cost of experts validating that translation.
  • Fund a local hospital’s neurology/ psychiatry department so that they can host monthly support group meetings
  • Arrange an inter-generational sensitization trip, such as a trip of school kids to a local dementia centre
  • Share your caregiving experience through comments on sites where you can share without violating your privacy (maybe anonymously). Decide to do so once a week (or month, whatever suits you).

Basically, I am starting a project to collect and document dementia-related ideas that are useful, doable, and give a sense of completion and satisfaction. Ideas you can pick up one at a time, do and complete satisfactorily, and either stop or pick up one more idea.

What I am doing: I am using my notes as well as published reports and papers (national and international) to get a starting set of ideas. I am trying to recognize do-able components of available ideas, and then select what seems important, useful, and practical to do. I am gathering data on successful initiatives and prototypes to add to this idea list.

Here is what I need from you: data and ideas. These include:

  • Send me data that can help me in my research: published papers, studies, news/ accounts of initiatives that worked (or failed, and why), examples of prototypes of caregiver interventions, and so on
  • Send ideas you consider practical to do. I’m sure anyone concerned about dementia has many big and many small ideas; send me ideas that you think fit my request. If in doubt, send the idea anyway.
  • Send any other suggestions.

I hope you will help.

Think of something useful that can be done even with limited energy and resources, even with constraints. Consider specific ideas where you can imagine someone achieving an end result in a short time frame. Then add a comment below (you don’t have to give your name if you prefer anonymity). Even sharing such ideas as comments may help others who are looking for project ideas. Of course, you can also email comments to me (see my contact information here).

Please share this post with anyone you think may be interested.

Thank you for reading.

(For your reference, here are the links referred to above):

If you like this post, please Share/ like this post using the buttons below.

You can also follow this blog by getting email notifications; click the “Follow me” option at the bottom of the right sidebar. Thank you!

About Swapna Kishore
I'm a writer, blogger, and resource person for dementia/ caregiving in India. I have also been a dementia caregiver for well over a decade, and am deeply concerned about dementia care in India; on this blog I share my personal caregiving journey, my experiences as a resource person for dementia care, and musings on life, aging, dementia in India, and such sundries. More about me and the work I do for dementia care. For structured information on dementia, for discussions, tools and tips on caregiving issues, for resources in India, and for caregiver interviews, please check my website http://dementiacarenotes.in (or its Hindi version, http://dementiahindi.com). For videos on dementia caregiving (English and Hindi), check the youtube channel here.

2 Responses to Ideas to support dementia care in India

  1. Sam Sangeeth says:

    respected mam why cant we start a journal on DEMCARE?

Leave a Reply

