Musings of a caregiver · Personal updates from the post-caregiving phase

On this blog, my current focus, and such things

It’s been a while since I blogged, so here’s an update on my intentions and directions, this blog, and such stuff. But first, please note that while my blogging is less frequent, I am still very active in the dementia domain and I respond promptly when contacted–so please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me. (read about what I do here)When I began this blog, I was my mother’s caregiver. At that time, I was overwhelmed with the care work and trying to get a sense of balance in my life. My initial entries were on my situation at that time, and my memories and understanding of my care journey till then. I shared these under the broad category Caring for mother (including Dementia Diagnosis, Living with dementia, Challenging Behavior, People around us, Adapting home and life, Late stage care). I also shared my Musings of a caregiver (including topics like Caregiver role, Caregiver isolation, Fulfilment in caregiving, Pondering about dementia, aging, and caregiving, etc). These personal entries, over 150 of them, span well over a decade long dementia care journey.As I became more informed, I began creating content that could help other caregivers (and later, volunteers). I blogged to share thoughts and observations about dementia care in India, provide links to my work, and so on.

When my mother died around four years ago, I lost the person closest to me. My main role—being a primary caregiver – had disappeared. Blogging about my loss and disorientation helped me through this transition.

Blogs evolve with the life of the blogger. The shifting profile of my blog entries reflect that. In the initial phase, I had many years of past events to explore and share. Once I caught up with sharing those memories, my later entries have mainly been around ongoing concerns, observations, and work.

My broad concerns regarding the dementia domain have remained much the same for last few years, and so has my personality. I am a self-doubting introvert trying to contribute. I remain an unhappy realist in how I view the state of dementia awareness and support in India. The paucity of information and services still deeply concerns me. However, I no longer create blog entries focused on these aspects, because that gets boringly repetitive.

My current focus is still content creation, keeping old content up-to-date, and interacting with persons who contact (more on my current work here). I’m also working more on my Hindi blog.

I now blog only for significant milestones and completed projects that warrant a blog-style entry. I use Facebook to share ongoing content creation and also to share thoughts, concerns, and queries where I need faster feedback. (You can connect personally with me on Facebook, or “like” my Dementia Care Notes Facebook page). I may resume frequent blogging here if some concept or topic that fires me up requires a longer format for expressing it. If you “follow” this blog, you will get notifications whenever I post.

Meanwhile, please look at the stuff I’ve already shared (check the menu or side bar of the blog). And get in touch with me if you want. Thanks!

If you like this post, please Share/ like this post using the buttons below.

You can also follow this blog by getting email notifications; click the “Follow me” option at the bottom of the right sidebar. Thank you!